HathiTrust Announces New Board of Governors

Posted on April 3, 2012 by

From MLibrary News:

HathiTrust is announcing the composition of its new 12-member Board of Governors, which will lead the library collaborative into its next phase. The board, which replaces the Executive Committee that was established by the founding members in 2008, will oversee HathiTrust’s 10-million volume digital preservation repository, research center, and other initiatives. The decision to create the board was made during the HathiTrust Constitutional Convention held in October 2011, which was convened to chart its governance structure and priorities going forward.

Members of the Board elected at-large from the participating institutions are:

Five year terms:
Betsy Wilson (University of Washington)
Robert Wolven (Columbia University)

Four year terms:
Richard Clement (Utah State University)
Patricia Steele (University of Maryland)

Three year terms:
Carol Mandel (New York University)
Sarah Michalak (University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill)

They will join six other members appointed by the founding institutions, each of whom will serve a term of five years:

Carol Diedrichs (Ohio State University)
Wendy Lougee (University of Minnesota)
Bradley Wheeler (Indiana University)
Laine Farley (California Digital Library)
Brian Schottlaender (UC San Diego)
Paul Courant (University of Michigan)

See Also: Background About the Board of Governors Election Process